|Sights of Ukraine|
|Sights of Ukraine|
Golden Gate in Kiev - one of the few structures of Kievskaya Rus' extant. Included in the UNESCO World Heritage List. Golden Gate was built in 1164 during the reign of Grand Prince Yaroslav the Wise of Kiev. During those days Kiev was surrounded by high earthen ramparts with deep ditches on the outside. Golden Gate was part of the defense structures and served as the main entrance to the city - it was the broad arch with ground fighting over it in the center of which was built white stone church. This amazing creation of ancient architects evoked admiration of contemporaries and brings terror to the enemies of their inaccessibility. In addition to defense purposes golden gates were also triumph arc, met foreign ambassadors and distinguished guests, accompanied the soldiers to defend the homeland.
Nowadays there is also operates Golden Gate Museum dedicated to the history of the monument. The museum is open from May to October. Opening hours: 10:00 - 17:00.
Kiev - Pechersk Lavra
Kiev-Pechersk Lavra - the unique monastic complex included in the UNESCO World Culture Heritage. More than 43 million tourists from all over the world have visited its territory during its existence. The complex includes the above-ground part (a complex of religious buildings) and underground (caves) parts.
Kiev-Pechersk Lavra began in 1051, when the monk Antony settled in these places in the dug out on a hillside cave. Associates were soon joined him and started to widen the cave, and later when the underground space could not house all the brothers, they began to construct above-ground part. About the length of the monastery caves legends said that the underground tunnels went under the Dnieper, and was also associated with other Lavra monastery caves of Kiev and Chernigov.
The monastery played a prominent role in the development of Ukrainian culture - the construction of temples to improve skill of architects and artists, was established here in Russia, first printing. In the monastery lived and worked well-known chroniclers, writers, scientists, artists, doctors, publishers. It was near 1113 the chronicler Nestor was "Tale of Bygone Years" - the main source of our knowledge of Kievskaya Rus.
St. Sophia Cathedral was built in the XI century. It is located in the heart of the city. Preserved through the centuries have survived 260 m2 mosaics and 3000 meters of frescoes. Hardly anywhere else in Europe you’ll find a church where have been preserved so much frescoes of XI century. Around the cathedral are monastic buildings of the 17th century, made in the architectural style of Ukrainian Baroque. The interior of the cathedral is almost unchanged.
St. Sophia Cathedral it is not exhaustible source of art works, which historians and tourists come to see and enjoy the wonder of Byzantine and Old Russian architecture.
One of the most beautiful palaces in Ukraine. The impressive Baroque building built in 1750-55 years. According to the project architect Rastrelli for Empress Elizabeth, who personally chose a place for it.
During the visits, the highest in the cues are stopped members of the royal family, including Ekaterina the II, visited Kiev in 1787. The Palace was a residence of governors of Kiev province. Now the Mariinsky Palace is the ceremonial residence of the President of Ukraine, where social functions are held at the highest level.
Andrew’s Rise is Kyiv’s most touristed area. Though vendors hawking jewelry, clothing, and other trinkets crowd the sidewalks, the area retains its old, authentic feel thanks to the steep, winding cobblestone streets, historical buildings, and outdoor cafes. From Mykhaylivska Sq., walk down Desyatynna to get to the top of Andriyivskyy Uzviz. There you’ll see St. Andrew’s Church, conceived by Empress Elizabeth Petrovna in the 18th century and designed by her favorite architect, Italian Bartolomeo Rastrelli. Renovated in the 1970s according to Rastrelli’s original plans, the church overlooks the center of Kyiv and the Dniper River. Down Andriyivskyy Uzviz 100m, steep wooden stairs lead to a great view of Podil, Kyiv’s oldest district. Farther down are writer Mikhail Bulgakov’s house (Andriyivskyy uzviz 13) and the Museum of One Street.
Maidan Nezalezhnosti (Independence Square) is the central square of Kiev. One of the main city squares, it is located on the Khreschatyk Street. The square was known under many different names but it became prominent as simply the Maidan due to the political events of great significance that took place there in the recent years after the Ukrainian accession to independence.
The people-watching capital of the nation, Kyiv centers on this broad commercial avenue. The houses along Khreshchatyk were destroyed during the Nazi occupation in 1941 and rebuilt during the Soviet era, for better or worse, in distinctive Soviet style. Khreshchatyk is now a place to see and be seen, where amateur fashionistas promenade past students playing guitar on the sidewalks. Beer-drinking Kievans crowd these sidewalks in the evenings, or take to the streets when they’re closed to traffic on weekends and holidays. An archway leads to the Passage, one of Kyiv’s most fashionable areas, home to high-priced cafes and bars.
The House with Chimeras is the most famous and ridiculous mansion in Kiev. And it is almost impossible to visit it. The address of House with Chimeras is 10, Bankova Street. The Reception Hall of President of Ukraine is located there. The summits are held in the stylish cabinet of the former owner of the building. The great Kievan architect Vladislav Gorodetsky lived there. But you have a wonderful opportunity to visit one of the main attractions of Kiev!
National Museum of Folk Architecture and Life "Pirogovo" - one of the largest open air museums in the world, a popular Kiev holiday destination.
Organized in 1969 on a beautiful suburban area of the village raised pies (Pirogovo). Displays the landscape, architecture and village life in different regions of Ukraine. At 150 hectares harvested more than 300 wooden buildings of XVII-XX century. Brought from different parts of the country: churches, homes, windmills.
The architectural ensemble of the main trading area in Lvov has started in the XIV century. Modeled on the medieval cities in Europe (before the trade center was an old market).
On the four sides of the square is surrounded by 44 houses different by the time of construction and style (Renaissance, Baroque, Empire). Above the buildings architect worked. P. Krasovskii, Gradovskii, Barbon, Roman, Meretin, Fesinger and others. In the basements and first floors of many houses have been saved the elements of Gothic architecture of XV-XVI century. They are placed museums, shops and popular cafes. The most interesting building ("black Kamenica", "Royal Kamenica", etc.) occupies by the Lvov History Museum.
Latin Cathedral of St. Mary
Cathedral was built over 140 years (1350-1493). Building was started in the Gothic and was finished by the architect Hans Bleher, who created the most part of the cathedral. In this work did not end as it has already had to be rebuild after a fire in 1527.Another restoration of the cathedral carried out in 1760-1778 years. In the Baroque style of the project and under the guidance of architect Peter Paleyovskogo. The bell tower has grown up to 65 meters high, which covered the baroque brass helmet with four stone vases at the corners.
From Gothic through the Renaissance, Baroque, Classicism to Art Nouveau was Latin Cathedral’s way. All construction periods have left their mark on the architecture of the temple. However, the prevailing Gothic. This is particularly felt in the interior. Arches and the vault with ribs produce a majestic impression.
Dominican Cathedral and monastery it’s one of the most remarkable monument of late Baroque in Lvov. In the building of monastery and campanile had been established Museum of the History of Religion since 1972.
Podgoretskiy Castle it’s well-preserved palace surrounded by fortifications. Castle is situated on the East of Lvovskaya oblast (district) in s. Podgorci. With Olesskiy and Zolochevskiy Castels are forming “Golden horseshoe of Ukraine” (famous tourist route trough Castles in Lvovskaya oblast). Also, in Podgoretskiy Castle was made few episodes from soviet movie “Three musketeers”.
Church of St. Elizabeth it’s cathedral in Gothic Revival style in Lvov, on Krapivnyckogo square. By the legend church was named after popular among the people Empress Elizabeth (Zizi) of Habsburg, Austro-Hungrian Emperor Franz-Joseph’s the First wife.
At the Ay-Todor’s Cape instead of modern palace in ancient time there was a temple. After this place was conquered by tavras’ tribes. And long period after, in XIX century, here was build a small wooden house. First owner left unknown in nowadays. In the beginning of XX century this place get a new owner – oil magnate and Baron Shneygel from Baku. On his wish from 1911-1912 was created a romantic castle – palace, which fully meets their shapes name "Swallow's nest." Although the author himself called it a palace of love.
Livadia it’s a picturesque corner of the southern coast of Crimea, whose fate has absorbed the turning points of history. The summer residence of the last Russian Tsar – Nikolay the Second. The first sanatorium for peasants in the 20s. At the end of World War II - a meeting place for leaders of three allied countries - the USSR, USA and UK, where they was deciding a question of the finishing of the Second World War and the postwar world. Residence of the head of the Soviet state I.Stalin in the early postwar years.
Livadia Palace was designed by the architect of Yalta Krasnov, who received for the construction of this palace and other buildings on the southern coast of Crimea the title of academician of Russian architecture.
Chyfyt-Calais it’s the most all well-preserved cave city in Crimea. In ancient times city was mostly inhabited by alans and sapmatams tribes, called OP-kypk (turks - "forty fortification") and, according to historical was founded in VI century.
Nikitinskiy Botanic Garden was founded in 1812 and is one of the oldest research institutions in Ukraine. The founder of the garden - a prominent biologist of the XIX century Christians Hristianovich Stevan. Currently, the collection of the garden there are over 1,125 different types: 450 - from Southeast Asia, 336 - of the Mediterranean, 238 - from North America. There are representatives from South America, South Africa and New Zealand flora.
Khan's Palace (Khan-Sarai) - the residence of the Crimean Khans. The total area of the Khan's palace is more than 4 hectares. In the center of the palace ensemble - the palace square, where the assembled troops and parades were held. Before Crimea was joined to Russia here was selling stolen during military incursions good. Opposite the palace - Big Khan Mosque (Jami Bink Khan), painting is done by the Iranian master Omer in 1763. Every year thousands of people from all corners of the Earth tend to Bakhchisarai to witness the celebrated Pushkin fountain of tears, to enjoy the skillful works of ancient masters.